Ask:
-Why did she write a diary?
-Why did her family and her move to another city?
-Why didnt they take their other family members?
Connect:
After the book more further, I can see how the book and I can relate. Zlata is a really shy but fun, loving person, and so am I. She worries about things that are either pity or big, just like me. Also, even though there are terrible things going on in her country, and is not really affecting the area where she is living in, she still moves on with her life, and tries her best to do the best things she can to make her life plentiful, before anything terrible occurs, just like me.
Interpret:
" I had a lump in my throat when Daddy said he had been called up by the police reserve. I hugged him, crying, and started begging him not to go, to stay at home." This sentence reminds me whenever its the first day of school.  After the wonderful summer break we have, I feel like I am being sent to prison or something and how hard it is to leave your family. Every first day of school whenever my dad drops me off, I give him a big hug, and get tears in my eyes. I don't know why I do this, but I've been doing this ever since I started school. I mean I know I am a big girl and all, but after all, I still am a daddy's little girl.
Evaluate
I would give this book a A, because its getting to be interesting. As I kept reading the book, it turned into a diary. It started sharing the personal feelings the writer was feeling and how she was actually living during the war. It also tells me how terrible the killing was when it killed all those innocent people. Another thing, is that it touched my heart on how she was actually feeling when she saw the killings on the news. There was also basically a pattern in the book like it started out all creepy and confusing and then it went from happy to mysterious to sad to happy to serious. 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.